User Rating: 0 / 5

Star InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

ALIGARH:The Department of Civil Engineering, Z H College of Engineering and Technology (ZHCET), Aligarh Muslim University organized a one-day national workshop on

“Reliability and Structural Reliability" under the Technical Education Quality Improvement Programme (TEQIP-III).

Prof Tariq Mansoor, Vice Chancellor, Aligarh Muslim University, graced the occasion as chief guest while Prof M M Sufyan Beg, Principal, ZHCET was the guest of honor.

Speaking on the recent changes in earthquake codes and their implications on design of structures, Prof D K Paul, Professor, IIT Roorkee, said that through new changes incorporated in the IS 1893-2016, the Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS) is planning to upgrade all the earthquake design codes so that engineering professionals could design robust buildings with no structure failure under the impact of seismic loadings.

Prof Suhail Ahmad, Department of Applied Mechanics, IIT Delhi, delivered a lecture on “Applications of Reliability”. He emphasized the importance of reliability in offshore structures with emphasis on floating platforms and Marine risers. He also underlined the uncertainties in composite materials and their use in day to day life. The application of reliability in orthopedic use was also highlighted in his lecture.

Prof Yogendra Singh, IIT Roorkee talked about the advanced method of designing specialty buildings such as hospitals and schools against earthquake. He said that the current IS code on earthquake resistant design ensures that the buildings do not collapse under earthquake, but it fails to ensure the functionality of these buildings after earthquake. He said that this could be achieved using the 'Performance-Based Design Methodology'.

Earlier, Prof Mohammad Arif, Convener of the workshop, welcomed the guests, resource persons and participants.

Prof Muzzammil, Chairman of the Department, introduced the theme of workshop while Prof Rehan A Khan, Organizing Secretary, proposed a vote of thanks.